Thirst

Thirst_For_Life_by_alireza1

Drops of love

Dripping with terror

Impatience and anger

Longing for tenderness

Waterfall of desire

As sweet as comfort

Bliss to the soul

Limitless promise

The thirst of life

All consuming harvest

Carry my heart

Breathe into the fire

Precious

Beautiful

Light

——

Written for Poetry Jam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thirst

  1. Gabriella says:

    I guess we are all longing for tenderness in one way or another. I like the progression in your poem, Alan, and how you end on beautiful and positive images.

  2. brian miller says:

    i like the journey from dark to light in this….from the tension of the beginning to the relief i feel in the end….nice job on the prompt this week alan

  3. Mary says:

    Admittedly I am a bit confused about the drops of love dripping with terror; but the image, in the second stanza, of such bliss heartens me. And the last stanza lifts me up! Great prompt this week.

  4. Sumana Roy says:

    from fear of losing love to that precious light is one long but satisfying journey…nicely done..

  5. Laurie Kolp says:

    Lovely… I especially like the 2nd verse, Alan.

  6. Umang says:

    At the end, things are good, right? I like how you ended up with those nice lines!

  7. ManicDdaily says:

    We definitely thirst for light, don’t we? The longing palpable here. k.

  8. Grace says:

    Beautiful words Alan ~ My favorite is the 4th stanza, breathe into the fire ~

  9. Poet Laundry says:

    “All consuming harvest

    Carry my heart

    Breathe into the fire”

    …sounds very healing…nice!

  10. arathi says:

    loved this a lot alan..journey from dark to light is beautiful:)

  11. Mrs Minerva says:

    I love this poem and the way it starts with dark, depressing and negative words to end with such wonderful concepts. Very nice take on the prompt, Alan! And thanks for stopping by.

  12. Wonderful poem, Alan. Laconic and expansive at the same time.

  13. Anne V says:

    Great stuff. I can relate to the fear turning into something positive in the end. Ever optimistic, the light will find a way to enter the darkest crevices of our minds. Hopefully. Otherwise there is chocolate.

Thank you for reading my poems. Please don't feel you have to comment. I enjoyed writing them, I hope you enjoyed reading them, Be blessed.