Lead Me

corridor

Lead me into the past

Walking down corridors

into the art gallery of memories.

Lead me to yesterday’s pictures

Through portraits of childhood

Into tapestries of home.

Deliver me from heartaches

Increased with difficulties

Limit my iniquities.

Remove from me those scenes that invade

That lead me back into despair

And remind me of my defeat.

Leave me with the triumph of mercy

The joy of forgiveness

The murals that bring pleasure.

Let me dwell within the masterpiece

Immersed in the colours of grace

With every brushstroke painted in love.

—-

Written for Poetry Jam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Lead Me

  1. Mary says:

    I think sometimes a person has to consider the path that one has taken, recognize the heartaches and difficulties one has traveled through, and then (as you said) remove oneself from those scenes & live in the joys of the present. One can’t travel back in time, can only live at the point in the path one is at today.

  2. Gabriella says:

    The positive images and memories of the past should be cherished not as an empty perfect golden age but to help us go through the present.

  3. brian miller says:

    mmm i want to dwell in that place as well…..

    have you heard the song…this so reminded me of it…

    lead me to that fountain, to the place your glory dwells…

    i need to google it to see if i can find it for you….

  4. Sumana Roy says:

    This is a wonderful prayer..memories as art gallery has a deeply felt longing ..the spiritual tone of the poem creates a wonderful pathway within self leading to His grace and love 🙂

  5. Laurie Kolp says:

    Really, really enjoyed this, Alan… especially the last 3 lines.

  6. Learn from the past, but don’t dwell in it. A delightful read though.

  7. Gillena Cox says:

    Your use of imagery is so marvelously done, have a nice Wednesday

    Much love…

  8. when we can let the past guide us on into the future… a truly wonderful thought Alan…

  9. Grace says:

    That last 6 ending lines just lifted me to the clouds ~ Beautiful writing Alan ~

  10. A lovely extended metaphor, Alan. The art gallery of our memories will surely attract many re-visits, but as you say, we tend to look only at the pictures that we like…

  11. Rallentanda says:

    We are surrounded by barbarism. We need to find personal peace.

  12. peggygoetz says:

    I like the images in this and traveling along the pathway of memories. Wonderful mood in this.

  13. Truedessa says:

    This is beautiful and full of images from where once one walked. The galleries of memories so much there to take in as you view each work of art.

  14. Sara v says:

    Love all the images and emotion in this poem. Beautifully penned!

  15. Wendy Bourke says:

    Wonderful “path” poem – as restorative as a prayer.

  16. art gallery of memories. I like that thought for we all have so many that can brighten any day

Thank you for reading my poems. Please don't feel you have to comment. I enjoyed writing them, I hope you enjoyed reading them, Be blessed.